Breaux equal pay measure rejected by Republicans on Equal Pay Day

INDIANAPOLIS – On Tuesday, Senate Republicans rejected a proposal offered by Assistant Senate Democratic Leader Jean D. Breaux (D-Indianapolis) that would ensure fair pay regardless of gender, race or national origin and would give the Indiana Civil Rights Commission the jurisdiction to investigate and resolve complaints of unequal pay. The proposal, defeated along party lines, was offered as an amendment to House Bill (HB) 1001, legislation that frames the state’s next biennial budget.

“It’s simple. Hoosier women deserve equal pay for equal work. Today, April 14, Hoosier women will have finally earned what their male colleagues made in 2014,” said Sen. Breaux. “It takes women 104 additional days – 469 in total – to earn what men earn in a calendar year.”

Sen. Breaux pointed to wage gap statistics that rank Indiana sixth worst in the nation. Studies show Hoosier women earn just 75 cents for every dollar men earn. That adds up to $11,000 less on average in 2013. Over their career, women will lose out on more than $200,000 as a result of the gender pay gap. It is expected, if current workforce and earnings trends hold, that women’s pay will catch up to what men earn in 2086.

“This proposal gives the Indiana Civil Rights Commission the authority and jurisdiction to investigate and resolve complaints of unequal pay for the same work,” said Sen. Breaux. “I do not believe Indiana would have such a shocking wage gap if this enforcement mechanism were placed into law.”

Senate Democrats offered a number of amendments to HB 1001, including alterations to the state’s school funding formula and a legislative study of expanding civil rights law to LGBT Hoosiers. Those amendments were also defeated along party lines.

Sen. Breaux represents Indiana Senate District 34 which includes the near eastside of Indianapolis including portions of Center, Washington, Lawrence and Warren Townships. For more information on Sen. Breaux’s legislative agenda or other State Senate business call 1-800-382-9467 or visit


Senate Democratic Caucus elects new leadership team

Senate Democratic Caucus elects new leadership team

New Democratic Leader Sen.Tim Lanane says common sense issues take priority

INDIANAPOLIS – Members of the Indiana Senate Democratic Caucus have elected a new team of legislative leaders for the upcoming 118th Indiana General Assembly.

During a Statehouse caucus held Wednesday, the Senate Democrats voted to elect State Senator Tim Lanane (D-Anderson) as Democratic Floor Leader and State Senator Jean Breaux (D-Indianapolis) as Assistant Democratic Floor Leader. Additionally, State Senator Jim Arnold (D-LaPorte) was re-elected Caucus Chairman. The leaders assume new responsibilities immediately.

According to Sen. Lanane, the immediate needs of Hoosier families are the top concern for the caucus members.

“Our state is in the midst of a challenging time and many Hoosiers are hopeful that better days are on the horizon. Our proposals and budget priorities will reflect the principles of rebuilding our economy, our schools and our local communities,” Lanane explained.

Sen. Lanane continued, “These are common sense issues that truly matter to the citizens of Indiana. My hope is that the majority does not veer from these important challenges to devote too much time on divisive social issues, but that we stick to these very worthy goals and work in a bipartisan fashion to put Hoosiers back to work, provide quality educational opportunities, and move the state forward.

“The Senate Democrats continue to stand ready to work with our colleagues in the General Assembly and the newly elected governor to reach these goals.”

First appointed to the Senate in 1997, Sen. Lanane has served as the Assistant Democratic Leader since 2008. He represents Senate District 25, which encompasses portions of Madison and Delaware counties including the communities of Anderson and Muncie.

Sen. Breaux was appointed to the State Senate in 2006 and has served as Assistant Democratic Caucus Chair since 2008. She represents Senate District 34 which encompasses the near east side of Indianapolis including portions of Center, Washington, Lawrence, and Warren Townships.

Sen. Arnold has served in the State Senate since 2007 and was first elected to serve as the Democratic Caucus Chair in 2008. He represents Senate District 8, which encompasses a majority of LaPorte County including LaPorte and Michigan City, and the western portions of St. Joseph County.

For more information on the Senate Democratic Caucus visit


Breaux notes progress, importance of land banks bill

Senator Jean Breaux explains the importance of updating and reevaluating the state’s current land bank law. House Bill 1249 would establish a summer study committee on the topic where legislators would meet and recommend further legislation for the 2013 Legislative Session.